Think of it as Evolution in Action

Bryan Lunduke is of the opinion that Free Software programmers are wasting their time. That we should do things once, and avoid re-implementing the wheel. Curiously Helios wrote a blog post about Bryan’s presentation, in which he seemed to back Bryan (and a later post which appears to disagree).

Now I don’t know either of these guys. Helios seems to think that Bryan is a pretty smart guy. Me, well I think that Bryan is a pretty misguided guy.

What Bryan is suggesting is that the Free Software community make itself into a Microsoft clone. Right, he wants us to imitate a failed company’s method of operation.

Bryan, the strength of the Free Software community is based on it’s lack of central organization. If I don’t like KDE, I can use Gnome. If I don’t see anything I like, I’m free to implement my own desktop. I can do the same thing with Kernels, web browsers, text editors, etc. This is our strength, and abandoning it would kill the community.

And if sometimes one project is so good, that it kills another? Think of it as Evolution in Action.

Leave a Reply

