Buying a new Phone and Computer – the Adventure Begins

FYI – I will be cross posting this in several places, in part because I’m looking for feedback, in part because I’m going to say some nasty things, and I want a lot of people to see them.

OK. So I’m making the big step. I’m leaving my job for a new opportunity, in which I will be operating independently, and I can make all of my own choices for computer and phone. Here are my requirements (at least those I’ve thought of so far):

Computer Requirements
01) The computer has to be portable
02) It has to have good battery life
03) I need CAD software that supports IGES and other standard formats
04) It has to be reasonably light (for travel)
05) It has to be durable (both for travel, and also because I would like it to last for 4 years)
06) The operating system has to be 100% reliable (no crashes)
07) It has to be virus proof (and proof against other types of malware)
08) The OS has to be maintenance free
09) Other software required is Mail
10) Other software required is Office
11) Other software required is Contact Management
12) Other software required is Accounting
13) Other software required is PDF Conversion
14) Other software required is Basic Graphic Editing
15) Other software required is Basic Video Editing
16) Other software required is Basic Sound Editing
17) It has to have a built in camera and sound recording for video conferencing

Phone Requirements
01) It has to be a smart phone (mail, web surfing, notes, and appointments)
02) It has to have good battery life
03) It has to be able to use 802.11 wireless when available
04) It has to be reasonably light (for travel)
05) It has to be durable (both for travel, and also because I would like it to last for 4 years)
06) The operating system has to be 100% reliable (no crashes)
07) It has to be virus proof (and proof against other types of malware)
08) The OS has to be maintenance free
09) It has to be able to sync with the computer

Now this is my list to this point – I’d appreciate suggestions as to what computers and phones would be good. I’d also appreciate suggestions as to what ones would be horrible!

I live in Canada, and have to put up with the pack of idiots that we have for wireless carriers, again, any suggestions as to which ones are less stupid and/or venal would be appreciated.

3 thoughts on “Buying a new Phone and Computer – the Adventure Begins

  1. Easy.MacBook (or Pro or Air)iPhoneMost of the software you need is included and/or available free.No maintenance, compatible (especially now with Snow Leopard), good battery life, sturdy, virus-free.

  2. For laptop, System76.com, up the specs on the 13inch notebook. For phone, I sync everything through Gmail to G1 from T-Mobile. And you can sync many of the FOSS mail & calendar apps with Gmail.

  3. I would go with Mr. Anonymous number 2.Why?Well we both know that the white MacBook Is perfect! (Bit of a stretch)So an iPhone (Gritting your teeth) with Rogers/Fido (Yes Fido has the iPhone. Rogers bought Fido)MacBook Pro 13" or 15". It is environmentally friendly and hell. We both know it will be good to use.

Leave a Reply

