Faux FLOSS Fundamentalists

What’s This About?

Our community and the people in it, are under attack. We are being disrupted, we are being defamed, we are being lied to, and, in some instances, we are even having our lives invaded.

Sounds serious. Can you supply any examples?

More importantly, there is a consistent thread running through these attacks, invasions and disruptions. This attack comes not from Microsoft, but from a parasitical pseudo-“community” that attempts to pretend it’s actually our community.

Sounds scary.

We are a community of not just coders, but localizers, artists, writers, marketers, conference volunteers, web designers, legal experts, photographers, experience and interface designers, and users who file bugs, make suggestions of provide feedback. This is the community that accomplishes and supports the work on the software we use and love.

Community is important.

We are seeing people making a pretense of involvement in FLOSS and in our community, people who we don’t actually know, people who never join us at conferences, don’t work in projects, and only participate in mailing lists to instigate flame wars. We are seeing people who seem to be making a sort of religion out of “free software” and issuing their demands to the rest of us to do things their way. These are people who will excoriate you as something less than a “true GNU/Linux user” if you should touch a Macintosh or (heaven forbid!) a Windows box. These are folks who will berate you for buying a piece of software or owning an iPod. These are people who will classify you as a “freedom hater” if you express reservations about the GPL v3.

Ah, now I see where this is going. Let’s take this point by point. I don’t attend conferences due to health reasons. I do work on a couple of projects, but nothing big, and not main line. But then again, I’m the only one who’s capable of doing this stuff, and I’m going to get in done and documented by Christmas. I promise. I do comment a lot. I have an opinion. In fact I’ve been described many times an extremely opinionated. I’m also a philosopher, and one of my responsibilities has always been technological analysis and prediction. I think Windows is an overpriced piece of junk. I like OSX, it feels a lot like Linux, and I like that I can run Linux on my MacBook. Apple makes excellent hardware. I’ve never called anyone opposed to GPL V3 a “freedom hater” – I reserve the word “IDIOT” instead.

Our community thrives on disagreement, and we (mostly) deal with it in healthy ways. We reject uniformity of opinion and we always have. In stark contrast, this pretense of “community” insists that their way is the One True Way, and we should all just shut up, learn the catechism, and do their bidding.

As to disagreement – a good example of how well you handle disagreement is on display in Carla Schroder’s blog, in her post on sexism. As to the “One True Way”, it comes down to this. There are only two important licenses in Free Software. The Modified BSD License and the GPL V3. None of the others serve the philosophical requirements of the Free Software Community. As to the Open Source Community, Open Source is dying due to it’s philosophical background.

Our community is founded on reputation, we value people based on their contributions: this is the “rough meritocracy” within which we operate. When the imposters of true community engage in defamation, invasions of personal privacy, taking mailing list disagreements into real life by contacting people’s employers, they create a chilling effect—people fear to express themselves as themselves, and reputation is lost.

Imposters? Do you have proof? Do you have proof of invasions of privacy?

These people are the “Faux FLOSS Fundamentalists”. They are disrupting and dividing our community with their demands that we do things the way they say, and their tactics of anonymous comment-bombing, mailing list trolling and defaming members of the community.

I have a copy of your enemies list. I’m on it. Nice start to a site, posting an enemies list, with comments. I was amused to see I was on it, since I don’t do any of the above. I do tell people what I think – I guess that’s a crime around here.

We say enough is enough. We are putting our collective feet down as far as strident demands from complete non-participants in the community go. We are saying “no” to Faux FLOSS Fundamentalism, and people like Roy Schestowitz, Sam Varghese, “Penguin Pete”, “Jason” of mono-nono, and the like, as well as the assortment of associated and sympathetic trolls who post endless anonymous comments to blog postings they dislike and start up flame wars on development lists.

Non-participants? Do you have any proof of this? Do you have any proof I post anonymous comments? Starting flame wars I’ll admit to. Anyone who has an opinion can start a flame war.

The Faux FLOSS Fundamentalists have nothing to offer the community but their propaganda, their dogma, and their misplaced sense of entitlement. We need to reject those who demand that we all sign up for “Freedom the Way We Tell You To” and we need to make it clear to them that they need to either actually start participating in a meaningful way or simply stop “advocating” at us.

But… You haven’t explained what Faux FLOSS Fundamentalism is. How can you object to something that you don’t define. And as an aside, you don’t seem to be American. I would guess that you are Ukrainian, or Slovac from your attitudes.

Plain old “freedom” is good enough for us.

But it’s not good enough for us. I wonder if you see the irony?

Oh, and I did a cap on your enemies list. Interesting. Very interesting.

9 thoughts on “Faux FLOSS Fundamentalists

  1. Ha Mad Hatter, You are replying to the Boycott Boycott blog comments, defending yourself, as if you and others on the enemies list are actually the faux-Floss people. While it is true that the BBN (Boycott Boycott Novel) blog says that you guys are Faux-Floss the BBN blog is actually a very clever and insideous trick perpetrated by the very Faux-Floss people outed within the BBN blog. Mind bending isn't it. In general I have noticed that the "Floss Fanatics" showing up with offensive and inane pro-floss comments have increased in proportion with the MS evangelism effort. My conclusion is that some of the foot-shooting behavior in our own community is indeed written by enemies to Floss ideals. When I read clueless pro-floss comments I classify them as one of three things.1. Could just be a really opinionated free software user/developer (who may or may not be mistaken or have gone over the top in the heat of the moment. (Like I have also done on rare occasion. I note that you too say you may have done this on occasion. This is not rare in the community.)2. Could be a really immature and offensive person who happens to be a floss user/developer.3. Could be a shill pretending to be a fanatical member of the community to help make us appear to be a bunch of rude, opinionated, unthinking, uncivil louts that no one would want to associate with.As a comment or post moves from strong opinions over this or that technical approach to simple name calling and swearing my rating of the individual goes from 1 to 3. (it used to go from 1 to 2 but the amount of name calling and swearing has increased and the lack of intelligent thought diminished to the point that it resembled many Microsoft fan style blogs and chats, so I added category 3. Though I think that the occasional category 2 post will exist I think it is very much more rare than either 1 or 3. As the type 2 and 3 posts most closely resemble one another I simply ignore anything that can be classified as type 2 or 3. So I put forward my opinion that the BBN site is written by a Faux-Floss fanatic to continue the attack that he exposed (and can probably be categorized as type 3).(Note that I may not agree with everything you find on Boycott Novell and other more opinionated Floss sites but I find that at least there is an attempt at intellectual honesty which is missing in some of the heated retorts. The Jason Perlow tech broiler is a good example of an (almost in-between site) having a weak attempt at reason (that might appear to some people to be well reasoned) in a blog that is presented in a more mild way. He sounds very even handed part of the time but I notice that he ignores any well reasoned replies discussing his arguments. He tends to respond most to flames coming back that are based mostly on the writers opinion. He replies gently and low key, sounding more reasonable than the heated replies. He also likes to sound like he is both a MS user and part of the floss community. While I do not doubt that he is (at least occasionally) a floss user, he does not sound like he views himself as a member of the community. Instead his identity seems wrapped up in Microsoft, this must be frusterating for him as he is an IBMer and IBM is moving toward floss. In any case there seem to be many new approaches to evangelism for MS lately coming in many guises. We need to raise our game to a higher level. ie. (strong) Opinion is fine if we attend it with good reasoning and civil discourse.

  2. Can you supply any examples?Sure: the disruption of the desktop-devel list in January by Mark Fink, demanding that Mono be removed from Ubuntu. The disruption of the ubuntu-devel list in June by Mark Fink, demanding that Mono be removed from Ubuntu and that Roy Schestowitz be made moderator.The harassing calls to my employers for complaining about Mr. Fink's behavior. Roy Schestowitz's lies about his complicity in instigating those calls.Mr. Schestowitz's numerous documented libels, of me, of Dennis Baron, of Jimmi Hugh, of Jeff Waugh, and many, many others. His further virtually pathological lying.Identification of people who make free choices as "traitors" and people who call out instances of sexist speech as "enemies", as Richard Stallman did at the latest Software Freedom Day.Shall I continue?I've never called anyone opposed to GPL V3 a "freedom hater" – I reserve the word "IDIOT" instead.Then you don't understand much about GPL v3 and the problems with it, particularly for the fastest-growing and most important class of devices these days, things like cell phones and similar mobile devices. It's unusable in those contexts.Did you know that when you give 10 out of 100 people cell phones in a developing country, the GDP goes up 0.8%? This is from the most recent issue of The Economist.If all "free" software were GPL v3, there would never be any phones that could use any of it. I guess your (idea of) "freedom" is the most important thing here, though.As to the "One True Way", it comes down to this. There are only two important licenses in Free Software….Not to put too fine a point on it, but the "Free Software Community", at least as you describe it, is a bunch of self-serving elitists who write code for one another, and don't care about anyone who can't code. This is no "community" with which I'm familiar, and I go to a lot of conferences.As to the Open Source Community, Open Source is dying due to it's philosophical background.Simple nonsense, Proof by Blunt and Repetitive Assertion. People in the community are a lot more pragmatic. That's because they want more people to use their code rather than fewer.In fact "open source" is doing better than ever, and it's (soi disant) "free software" that is becoming an increasingly marginalized minority. There are not people referring to "GNU/Linux" in increasing numbers; anyone who insisted that someone else use the word "free" before they'd talk to them would be treated with quizzical looks.Remember: I go to many conferences, including GUADEC, the Linux Symposium, FOSDEM, FOSTEL, LinuxTag, the Boston GNOME Summit, the Desktop Architects, the Collaboration Summit, and others. I've presented and been on panels at many of them.Trust me when I tell you that what you say is laughably out of touch with reality.An insistence on all-or-nothing makes getting nothing your default starting point in the discussion.Do you have any proof I post anonymous comments? Unless your parents had odd taste in names, Mr. Hatter (can I call you "The"…?), this blog is substantial evidence. I identify myself. An anonymous coward with a photo is still an anonymous coward.Do you have proof of invasions of privacy?I've documented Roy Schestowitz's involvement in harassing me in my blog, in some detail.You haven't explained what Faux FLOSS Fundamentalism is.No, you chose to ignore, or failed to understand, my clear explanation (that'd be a first among my readership, by the way; some have disagreed with my explanation, but you're the first to have been completely unable to locateit).And as an aside, you don't seem to be American. I would guess that you are Ukrainian, or Slovac from your attitudes.Born and raised in Brooklyn, Mr. Hatter. As an aside, I'd drop the mind-reading act: it makes you look (more) foolish.

  3. Oh Hi! I take it you are most worried about being listed as one of Schestowitz' abrasive sycophants? David Schlesinger included my original article about the BoycottBoys when he first established the domain, with my permission. I don't know why he removed it, but you can get to the original here. Corrections are welcome, as I told your pal Goblin. Don't bother writing an whiny three-part blog expose about it like he did, just tell me what you think it's wrong and I'll correct it if it's the case.

  4. Verofakto,Actually I'm quite happy to find myself listed. It means that I'm making a difference.So, no, I'm not worried. This is good.

  5. Part 1 – I hate the comment editorSure: the disruption of the desktop-devel list in January by Mark Fink, demanding that Mono be removed from Ubuntu. The disruption of the ubuntu-devel list in June by Mark Fink, demanding that Mono be removed from Ubuntu and that Roy Schestowitz be made moderator.The harassing calls to my employers for complaining about Mr. Fink's behavior. Roy Schestowitz's lies about his complicity in instigating those calls.Proof? Do you have any? Do you even know if Mark Fink exists? Do you have links?Mr. Schestowitz's numerous documented libels, of me, of Dennis Baron, of Jimmi Hugh, of Jeff Waugh, and many, many others. His further virtually pathological lying.Proof. Where did Schestowtiz lie, give me exact links both to what he said, and to the proof that he libeled you and/our your friends.Identification of people who make free choices as "traitors" and people who call out instances of sexist speech as "enemies", as Richard Stallman did at the latest Software Freedom Day.Curious. I didn't see that in his speech. Are you certain that you aren't thinking of someone else's speech?Shall I continue?Well you are welcome to do so, but so far all you are doing is bitching and complaining, and you haven't documented a thing. How about some documentation?I've never called anyone opposed to GPL V3 a "freedom hater" – I reserve the word "IDIOT" instead.Then you don't understand much about GPL v3 and the problems with it, particularly for the fastest-growing and most important class of devices these days, things like cell phones and similar mobile devices. It's unusable in those contexts.Did you know that when you give 10 out of 100 people cell phones in a developing country, the GDP goes up 0.8%? This is from the most recent issue of The Economist.If all "free" software were GPL v3, there would never be any phones that could use any of it. I guess your (idea of) "freedom" is the most important thing here, though.Actually I know the GPL V3 quite well, and yes, I do understand it. The question you didn't ask is if I have any concerns over it's affects on the mobile marketplace, and the answer is no. If the mobile operators feel unable to use a Kernel which is licensed under the GPL V3, well they why don't they use a Kernel that's licensed under the BSD license? Apple did.

  6. Part 2 – I hate the comment editorAs to the "One True Way", it comes down to this. There are only two important licenses in Free Software….Not to put too fine a point on it, but the "Free Software Community", at least as you describe it, is a bunch of self-serving elitists who write code for one another, and don't care about anyone who can't code. This is no "community" with which I'm familiar, and I go to a lot of conferences.I don't know how to say this politely, you are appear to be delusional. That is not what I said, nor is it what I implied.As to the Open Source Community, Open Source is dying due to it's philosophical background.Simple nonsense, Proof by Blunt and Repetitive Assertion. People in the community are a lot more pragmatic. That's because they want more people to use their code rather than fewer.In fact "open source" is doing better than ever, and it's (soi disant) "free software" that is becoming an increasingly marginalized minority. There are not people referring to "GNU/Linux" in increasing numbers; anyone who insisted that someone else use the word "free" before they'd talk to them would be treated with quizzical looks.In that case why are the GPL series of licenses which were designed to secure user freedom the most popular licenses? Many major projects (the Linux Kernel for example) use those licenses, and have been extremely effective.Remember: I go to many conferences, including GUADEC, the Linux Symposium, FOSDEM, FOSTEL, LinuxTag, the Boston GNOME Summit, the Desktop Architects, the Collaboration Summit, and others. I've presented and been on panels at many of them.Trust me when I tell you that what you say is laughably out of touch with reality.An insistence on all-or-nothing makes getting nothing your default starting point in the discussion.Yes, yes, yes. You are a big, important man. At least you think so. But do you actually do anything? And why should I trust you? Why should I trust someone who says things and refuses to provide supporting documentation? Why should I trust someone who appears (so far) to only care about his own interests? Do you have any proof I post anonymous comments?Unless your parents had odd taste in names, Mr. Hatter (can I call you "The"…?), this blog is substantial evidence. I identify myself. An anonymous coward with a photo is still an anonymous coward.Anonymous? Hardly. Damned near everyone knows who I am, it's no deep dark secret.Do you have proof of invasions of privacy?I've documented Roy Schestowitz's involvement in harassing me in my blog, in some detail.Really? Where?You haven't explained what Faux FLOSS Fundamentalism is.No, you chose to ignore, or failed to understand, my clear explanation (that'd be a first among my readership, by the way; some have disagreed with my explanation, but you're the first to have been completely unable to locateit).Oh, I found it all right. It doesn't make any sense.And as an aside, you don't seem to be American. I would guess that you are Ukrainian, or Slovac from your attitudes.Born and raised in Brooklyn, Mr. Hatter. As an aside, I'd drop the mind-reading act: it makes you look (more) foolish.Hardly foolish – I got the information I wanted.

Leave a Reply

