Chris Castle Weighs In – Another Ad Hominem Attack

Thanks to Barry Sookman for pointing this out.

In ‘Why We Love Lily Allen, Bono and Krist Novoselic‘, Chris starts of with the words ‘The best way to fight bullies is to fight bullies.’

Once again, ad hominem attacks seem to be the order of the day. Chris is declaring everyone who doesn’t agree with him is a bully. Chris seems to think that Lily Allen, Bono, and Krist Novoselic should be put up for sainthood (note that I have never heard of Krist Novoselic, and the only reason I had heard of Lily Allen was her attack on her own fans. I do however know who Bono is, though I couldn’t tell you anything he does).

Chris thinks that Bono’s op-ed piece in the New York Times was thoughtful. Apparently Krist Novoselic wrote a reaction titled ‘Why I Agree With Bono‘, in which he agreed with Bono.

Chris then states ‘You cannot have a market failure if you have no market, and you cannot have a market without enforceable property rights.’ But Chris is missing a major point.

You cannot have a market without a decent product.

Now I gather that Lily Allen, Krist Novoselic, and for that matter Chris Castle are supposed to be talented people. And so is Bono I gather. At least he got to do an op-ed in the New York Times. But I’m guessing that their music sucks. And the reason that I’m guessing that is that I, as a musician, cannot name one piece that any of these four ‘important performers’ have done. If they are so important, why don’t I know them? I know stuff by Alice Cooper (love his music). I know stuff by Bob Dylan. I know stuff by Warren Zevon. And I know stuff by Johnny Cash.

But I don’t know anything by the four musicians above. Now if these people were as good as they are supposed to be, I think I would know of something that they’ve done. And since I don’t, well, in my mind they aren’t worth paying attention to, whether they make the op-ed page of the New York Times or not.

Wayne Borean

January 9, 2010

Leave a Reply

