Corporate Copyright Scofflaws 0001 – ITunes

The largest copyright pirates are the large corporations, particularly in the content distribution business. Yes, those companies who scream the loudest that their customers are ‘pirating’ movies, songs, books, etc. In this series, we are going to look at cases where these companies have engaged in large scare copyright infringement.

In all cases I will be working with published information. It is possible that this information may not be up to date, or may not accurately reflect the current status of the copyright infringement. If I am supplied documentary evidence which shows a different status, I will publish an update. In cases where a lawsuit ensued, and the settlement was sealed, I will not update the published information, unless I am provided with:

1) A copy of the settlement
2) Permission to publish the settlement

While I realize this may cause problems for one or more of the parties involved, I believe in only publishing things I can reference.

Note that the above text will appear in every article, if you’ve read it once, feel free to skip down to the divider.

*****

Benn Jordan, aka The Flashbulb had been told that people were downloading his music from ITunes. Unfortunately he had never signed an agreement with ITunes (a division of Apple Inc.) When he tried to find out what was going on, he got the brush off.

In the TorrentFreak article where I first head of this, Benn asks:

So, who’s the pirate I should go after? A kid who downloads my album because it isn’t available in non-DRM format and costs $30 on Amazon? Or a huge multi-billion dollar corporation that has been selling thousands of dollars worth of my music and not even acknowledging it?

I’m not disillusioned, I’m outraged, and anyone who ever spent a dime on buying music through these distribution methods should be outraged too. Here we are pleading with people to not steal music, and then we hand them dog shit when they go out of their way to buy it.

Of course the labels and ITunes would never do this, would they? Ask Benn. His label, Sublight Records was apparently no help, and may be the real problem, not ITunes, but we have no way of knowing.

Now I’d never heard of Benn Jordan before reading this article, but I can understand his frustration. The companies that claim to be protecting his interests, are the same companies that are ripping him off. My thanks to Torrent Freak for publishing the original article.

Wayne Borean

Monday January 25, 2010

This entry was posted in Copyright, Corporate Copyright Scofflaws and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corporate Copyright Scofflaws 0001 – ITunes

  1. Pingback: Corporate Copyright Scofflaws 0009 – Pending List Action Settled | Through the Looking Glass

Leave a Reply

