Notes For The Last Several Weeks

There’s been a lot of things going on over the last couple of weeks, which is why there haven’t been updates. Part of my time has been spent on recording and mixing. Part of it has been spent on setting up some web sites. Part of it was spent trying to give my mutts a bath – both of them appear to be totally allergic to water 🙂

Joking aside – I’ve been busy. But I have been keeping my eye on things.

Groklaw – a lot of us have been following the case of suicide by lawsuit that is The SCO Group. Many of us have been hanging out at Groklaw since PJ started it over at Radio Userland, and this is another thank you to her for all of her hard work. For those not familiar with the case, I’d suggest reading Carla Schroder’s article at Linux Planet. To get a better idea of Groklaw’s impact on the community I strongly suggest reading Frank Hayes’ paean of praise Frankly Speaking: Grokking SCO’s Demise published way back in August of 2007. If you read The end, finally, at last, hopefully? Jury finds Novell retained UNIX copyrights you’ll see them quoting Groklaw, just as Frank quoted Groklaw in 2007. The point being that the traditional media messed up time after time in the reporting. The only accurate reporting was the work that PJ did at Groklaw. Again, thanks to PJ. In fact she’s partially to blame for me starting up ‘Through the Looking Glass’ – without her inspiration I probably never would have gone forward with my own writing.

Boycott-Novell – Boycott Novell has undergone a name change, and an expansion of mission. The site is now known as TechRights. While I called this an expansion of mission, really it’s a recognition of a change that occurred a while back. While still covering the implications of the Novell-Microsoft pact, Boycott Novell had long been covering other issues of concern to the Free Software community. A lot of people don’t like Roy. There’s long been claims that his reporting is inaccurate and biased. The funny thing is that no one has managed to successfully challenge Roy’s reporting, no matter how hard they try. Good work Roy!

Boycott Boycott-Novell – The original post on Boycott Boycott-Novell stated ‘Our community and the people in it, are under attack. We are being disrupted, we are being defamed, we are being lied to, and, in some instances, we are even having our lives invaded.‘ Lefty seemed to be blaming Roy at Boycott-Novell for everything up to and including Acid Rain, and possibly woman’s hem lines. Whatever lit the fire under Lefty appears to have died out. The most recent post is dated February 2010. I know Lefty is still alive, and paying attention to things, he posted here yesterday, but he appears to have lost interest in his own site.

Barry Sookman – I’ve had a lot of disagreements with Barry over the last five months. As I’ve said publicly, I wouldn’t hire this man as a lawyer. His accuracy level varies between terrible and atrocious. A good example is his article Murdoch urges reforms to stem online copyright free riding, where he slavishly repeats Murdoch’s statements about online copyright infringement, without doing the basic research which would have told him that Murdoch is one of the biggest copyright infringers in the news business. Come on Barry, anyone who could make through Osgoode Hall Law School has to be smarter than this.

James Gannon – James works with Barry at McCarthy TĂ©trault LLP, a law firm that specializes in serving the so-called ‘Entertainment Industry.’ Like Barry he is given to making unwarranted assumptions, and a level of inaccuracy that is truly appalling. I’ve left James alone in the past, but his exemption is over, and I will be tearing into him in my next post. As with Barry James is either careless, or he is lying outright (again, I refuse to believe anyone who could graduate from Osgoode Hall could be stupid).

Michael Geist – This is a fun one. I’ve liked a lot of Michael’s articles in the past. Michael tends to be thoughtful, incisive, and to do his research. The problem is that he is adding 2+2 and getting 15 in several places. I will be covering this in detail shortly.

Howard Knopf – This is another fun one. I like Howard’s no nonsense style of writing. Like Michael he’s making some serious mistakes in my view, and I will be addressing them in detail.

I intend to have some fun with my next few posts. See you around.

2 thoughts on “Notes For The Last Several Weeks

Leave a Reply

