The Cover Letter I Used For My Request For Disclosure – Copies Were Sent To The Government

Below is a copy of the email that I sent to the people who’s allegiances I was questioning, explaining my concerns, and asking for a response. The email was sent April 20th in the evening, it’s now April 23rd in the evening, and I still have had no response from the three people who haven’t made a declaration yet.

I’m not printing this here to take another shot at my opponents. I’m printing it here, as public documentation. The following elected politicians received copies:

Stephen Harper – Prime Minister of Canada – Conservative

Charlie Angus – New Democrat

Stephane Dion – Liberal

Gilles Duceppe – Party Leader – Bloc Quebecois

Jack Layton – Party Leader – New Democrat

Dan McTeague – Liberal

Byron Wilfert – Liberal

Tony Clement – Minister of Industry – Conservative

James Moore – Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages – Conservative

Michael Ignatieff – Party Leader – Liberal

The politicians in question all have an interest in copyright law, either through being Minister, being part of the shadow cabinet, or personally (Charlie Angus is a musician). These are the people who are going to be involved in the parliamentary debate when the Conservative Government submits the new copyright law. As I’ve said, I’m going to be documenting this entire thing, as our political representatives need to be informed of what is going on.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Friday April 23, 2010

Here’s the letter:

I’m exceptionally concerned about many of the articles being written about copyright law, and the changes that have been suggested by many writers. My main concern is that many of these people appear to have an agenda that is being driven by their clients, and that they are not disclosing these clients. For example I do recording work for a couple of small artists. I have disclosed this in my articles. However several writers who are legal professionals have written articles under their own names, which quite possibly are being influenced by their professional work. This is not to say that the influence is in any way wrong, but rather that if there is a connection, it should be disclosed, even if the writing is of a personal nature, so that the reader can consider that connection when evaluating the article.

As a result I’ve written an article calling on those who I know of, who have been heavily involved in Canadian Copyright Issues, to state their affiliation. Again, there’s nothing wrong with having an interest based on your work. My work is why I am so interested. However I think that disclosure is important, and I’m calling on everyone who has written about the issue to make this disclosure.

In the article I have listed people who I know of who’ve written on the issue. I have no doubt that there are many others that I have missed. Please feel free to make suggestions. Some of the people who I’ve left off, like Corey Doctorow, have made their affiliation clear (also note that Corey isn’t a lawyer, his interest in copyright is like mine, practical). If you think I should add him, or anyone else, please let me know.

You can read the article here:

Regards

Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter
Writer, Musician, Recording Engineer
http://madhatter.ca
One thought on “The Cover Letter I Used For My Request For Disclosure – Copies Were Sent To The Government

Leave a Reply

