You Absolutely Have To Love It When…

About two years ago I wrote the first of several articles critical of Microsoft President Steve Ballmer. It seems to have taken a while, but now the mainstream press has started to catch on. I think. Seattle Weekly, which when it talks about Microsoft reads more like Pravda talking about the Soviet Communist Party, even has an article. SF Gate says ‘Ballmer is not a product person,’ something totally obvious to anyone who had used Windows Vista or Seven for more than five minutes. Steve J. Vaughn-Nichols thinks that it’s RIP-PC (I don’t agree with him, I think it’s RIP Microsoft – Microsoft does not equal PC). It almost seems like a perfect storm.

I almost feel guilty writing articles critical of Microsoft. You have to understand, I never did like Bill Gates. But I did respect him to a certain extent, and I’ve never had the least bit of respect for Ballmer. The man is so totally clueless that I’ve wondered for years how he ever ended up in control of Microsoft. Yeah, he’s Bill’s friend. Still…

Rob Enderle is convinced that Apple has a Fifth Column inside of Microsoft. I’ve seen this sort of thing happen, but you should never ascribe to malice what can be ascribed to stupidity, and there’s a lot of stupidity out there.

Me? I think that Microsoft has lost it’s way, that it’s concern with blocking competitors instead of providing products that people want, is killing it.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Wednesday June 2, 2010

PS: Bill C-32 has officially been announced, I will have more information after I’ve been able to read it.

Leave a Reply

