The War Against The Spammers Continues

Image courtesy of Janet Galore
Image courtesy of Janet Galore

I hate spam. I hate spammers even more.

Anyone who runs a website with a comment mechanism has the same problem. It can get so bad, that it can overwhelm your software. I know of a couple of sites that stopped working because of the overload of spam.

And they’ve been hitting me pretty hard.

I managed to kill their ability to post a while back, so at least I wasn’t having to wade through messes of junk to determine what was and wasn’t real. But they didn’t know that, and I had tons of fake users signing up. So I’ve installed a Captcha mechanism, and I’m carefully weeding out the user list.

Hopefully I won’t make any mistakes, and delete the wrong user. If I do, feel free to yell at me 🙂

Regards

Wayne Borean

Saturday February 19, 2011

One thought on “The War Against The Spammers Continues

Leave a Reply

