Facebook and Windows Security Breach

For those who’ve been wondering where I’ve been, I’m still off celebrating my Silver Wedding Anniversary. This however is an emergency.

I was on Facebook a few minutes ago, and a distant cousin popped up a chat window, with a link to a picture. Alarm bells immediately went off. No chat, just a link to a picture? That just wasn’t right. I was pretty sure it was a virus. I was also certain I was safe, as I know he runs Windows.

So I clicked on it, and the image didn’t open, which is what should have happened since I was using my Mac. Instead it downloaded a zip file.

Here’s what Facebook chat said:

omg gv

Note that I killed the link so no one could accidentally click on it. After downloading it I unzipped it, and this is what I saw.

Facebook Viral Payload
Facebook Viral Payload

I then opened it with an editor, and confirmed that it was a Windows only payload.

Note "This program cannot be run in DOS mode."
Note "This program cannot be run in DOS mode."

As I’ve warned people before, if you avoid Windows, you will avoid most of the malware in existence. Yes, there is a small amount of malware that exists for Linux and Mac OS X. I still have a copy of the Mac malware I wrote about several months back on my hard drive. It’s really not very impressive compared with this, which from what I can tell appears to self install with only one click from the Windows user.

If you know anyone who is running Windows, warn them that they really need to make sure that they have something installed to keep them safe. My personal suggestion is that Microsoft’s solution is worth looking at.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Friday August 26, 2011

5 thoughts on “Facebook and Windows Security Breach

    1. A lot of people have gotten tired of the Microsoft Treadmill, and have dumped Windows for Mac OS X or Linux. Others have made the Microsoft Security industry into a lucrative proposition.

      My personal suggestion would be to get rid of Windows. If you can’t (and a lot of people can’t because they don’t have the skills) I would suggest downloading and installing Microsoft Security Essentials. They may not be the best solution, but since Microsoft caused your problem, they should supply the fix.

      At least that’s my opinion.

      Wayne

  1. Isn’t it true, that if I’m not running Win in an admin account, I’m mostly protected from these types of issues?

    1. Andrew,

      That depends upon the threat in question. If it is a Privilege Escalation Threat, now, you aren’t protected. Some other types of threats you might be.

      I have to admit that I’m no longer up to date on all of the details on Windows Threats. I don’t run Windows myself any more (well that isn’t totally true, I have a copy of Windows 8 that I’m playing with).

      If you are running Windows, you need to make sure that you are running some sort of protection. If you aren’t, you are living dangerously.

      Wayne

Leave a Reply

