Doing the Password Polka

Me and my junior editor, Kleopatra
Me and my junior editor, Kleopatra

Kleo and I got a nasty reminder about password security today. A fellow writer’s preteen daughter has a Facebook account. Yes, I know the rules say that you have to be over a certain age, and she is barely that age.

I’ve never really thought that those rules made a hell of a lot of sense myself. In fact I’ve thought that online age restriction rules should be made a criminal offense. Of course everyone knows that I’m crazy.

Today I got an invitation from this young woman to join up on a sex application. I know that she isn’t into sex yet. She thinks that the concept is icky, and like most kids her age hasn’t connected the dots to realize that she is the result of OHMIGOD SEX!

Yeah, we were all that innocent at some point. So I sent her dad a warning, so he could secure her account. Then I started thinking about my own accounts. Have I got any weak passwords?

Yes, I do.

I’d gone over my passwords several times, but for some reason I’d never gotten around to fixing my Twitter password. I don’t know why I hadn’t done that. But I hadn’t.

So I tried to change it. Yes, tried. Twitter has some nice software. Their password change system sucks. It took me a half hour to get the password changed, and I’m an experienced programmer.

And I still haven’t gotten all the devices fixed. I cannot get the change to take effect on the iPad no matter what I do. Curiously the iPhone took the change the first time I tried it.

No wonder people don’t change their passwords to make them more secure. When companies make it this hard, they just give up.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Sunday December 11, 2011

 

One thought on “Doing the Password Polka

Leave a Reply

