Why I Know They are Lying in Steubenville – High School – Spring of 1971

The Mad Hatter & Kleopatra

 

The Steubenville Case has hit really hard. Here’s why.

I went to High School in the early Seventies. If you’ve ever seen That ’70 Show, it does a decent job of showing what High School was like back then, though from an American viewpoint.

In my second year of High School I turned fifteen. Tons of raging hormones, too shy to even ask a girl out, and with a view of women that was, well, I tended to put them on a pedestal. Since I was an only child, I didn’t have sisters to learn from, and my Mom was very old-fashioned. Victorian in fact.

One day I had a spare, and was in the back of the library, reading. I’ve always read. I can’t remember a time I couldn’t read, and I’m told I could read before I started school.

So I’m sitting there, plowing through either a Heinlein or Isaac Asimov novel, when two people came into the library, sat down, and started talking. They had looked around the library, but not seen me. I’d picked my spot carefully – it was almost impossible to see into unless you walked right into it. Lots of kids thought reading was, well, funny.

The people who came in started talking, and in seconds I was red as a beet. The girl, who was two grades ahead of me was telling the boy, about how she’d been raped at a party. I knew the girl in question, as one of those unobtainable, incredibly beautiful older girls, that we Grade Ten students could only stare in awe at. That some jerk had treated her this was was horrifying.

I also had a problem. It was near the end of the period, and I had to get to class.

I waited until the last possible moment, then politely picked up my books and left, without looking at them. They knew I had to have heard, but no one said anything, and I never, ever, mentioned the event to anyone at school.

A year or so later, in class one day, one of the guys was feeling up one of the girls. She didn’t tell him to stop. But she didn’t look all that comfortable with what was going on. Since the whole class saw it, it got talked about, but no one told the principle, including the teacher. And yes, the teacher saw what was happening, commented on it, but didn’t stop it.

The “She asked for it” line is something I heard a lot in school. It was common. I heard “He asked for it” as well when someone lost a fight. It was always the losers fault, or the victim’s fault.

The problem with saying that “Someone asked for it” is you are admitting that

YOU KNOW THAT IT ISN’T THEIR FAULT!

Anyone who says this is trying to cover their ass. So when I hear that the victim in Steubenville was a “Train Whore” and that she was out partying and getting laid every weekend, I know they are lying.

Because they know bloody well that they are guilty, and are trying to cover up.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Monday January 7, 2013

5 thoughts on “Why I Know They are Lying in Steubenville – High School – Spring of 1971

    1. It has been bothering me for a long time. I doubt she ever told police about the rape. Back then it was still legal to introduce every rumor and lie about a women’s sex life into evidence. Who would want to go through that?

      Even now, most rapes don’t get reported, and those hat do proceed to charges being aid, well, we can see what happens to the girl’s reputation when the trolls come out in the newspapers and Social Media. Which they will when there’s something at stake.

      Privelige lives.

      Wayne

  1. I was a few years behind you and a great lake away from you when in Highschool. I went to a boys boarding school; we had some female students (not very many), but they were commuters. I know that the attitudes were similar in the mid 1970s, though, amongst both the students and a large part of the faculty.

    Until the middle of my Junior year, I was one of the campus “punching bags”; every group of bullies with something to prove would come after me. I was beaten bloody several times, stabbed once, and got a cracked rib over that time. I was harassed verbally, had my artwork and homework destroyed, and otherwise got mistreated in the presence of portions of the faculty. More often than not, I was the one who suffered the disciplinary consequences, when there were any at all. Even some of the teachers believed that, by being sensitive, awkward, and uncoordinated, I was asking for it; that getting beaten by my peers was my way of getting attention.

    I was not asking for it, and it was not a way of getting attention.

    When I suddenly gained sufficient coordination to defend myself and I bested the leader of one of the groups of bullies, I gained immunity from all of them. They were, for the most part, afraid of me and what I might do as revenge for their treatment over the years. I did precisely nothing for revenge. I put myself between the victims and these groups whenever I could, without ever threatening physical violence. I don’t know if this shamed them, but it did protect those who could not protect themselves better than had I not done so. Bullies are people who exert power over others by intimidation, physical or otherwise, and occasionally deal out punishment to keep their victims under their control.

    To this day, I can’t abide bullies, physical or psychological.

    I would like to think that, had I been at any of the gatherings through which the atrocity in Steubenville went, I would have put a stop to it, or tried to do so at least. It seems that nobody did. It does not matter what reputation someone has, assault is assault. In the case in question, it was a sexual assault of an extreme sort; serial multi-party rape. Nobody “asks” for that. Nobody “deserves” that.

    1. If someone had called the police, it might have helped. Note that I said might. A lot of the people at the party would probably have lied to protect their friends. In fact some probably still are.

      The massive attention that the case has drawn down on the town may cause some of the people involved to rethink their actions. I hope.

      Wayne

Leave a Reply

