Hosting Company with no Guts – They won’t get my business

This is one hosting company I’d avoid.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Saturday February 23, 2013

—– Follow below the break

August-20-12 9:50:39 PM (21/08/2012 1:50:39 AM – GMT)

Powered by SightMax.

Welcome to hostpapasupport.com, JonathanR will be right with you.

JonathanR:
Hello, how may I help you

Wayne :
Unlimited domains, 100% in Canada hosting, good price, no bullshit.

Wayne :
You got that?

Wayne :
Oh, and none of that Windows shit, straight Unix, with me, and only me in full control.

JonathanR:
Yes, we offer unlimited domains. Our servers are located in Canada. We offer competitive rates. We are a linux based hosting platform.

JonathanR:
Im not sure what you mean by full control.

Wayne :
You have no access to my passwords.

JonathanR:
We are not able to view your passwords if thats what you mean.

Wayne :
I’m a paranoid son of a bitch. For good reason. I’ve been hit with fake DMCA takedowns in the past.

Wayne :
I’m a paranoid son of a bitch. For good reason. I’ve been hit with fake DMCA takedowns in the past.

Wayne :
I also mean you are totally locked out of my box/vm

JonathanR:
well, we manage the servers and accounts, so we do need access.

Wayne :
I’ll manage the server.

JonathanR:
We do not offer dedicated servers. We are a shared hosting provider

Wayne :
I’ve been playing on computers for a long time, probably before you were born.

JonathanR:
I don’t see how that is relevant sir. We do not offer dedicated servers, so unfortunately we would not be able to let you manage your own server.

Wayne :
Ever hear of this:

Wayne :
Ever hear of this:

Wayne :
http://www.michaelgeist.ca/content/view/5754/125/

JonathanR:
What does this have to do with us sir?

Wayne :
What I need is SECURITY, not some wimp web company that pulls a site down because the big bad CRIA squeaks because I called them morons once again.

Wayne :
I’m evaluating my options.

JonathanR:
It sounds like what you need is dedicated hosting.

JonathanR:
Unfortunately we do not offer dedicated hosting.

Wayne :
And you don’t have any guts.

JonathanR:
Sir that is uncalled for. Im not sure what you are asking of me

JonathanR:
you specified what you were looking for, and I let you know that it sounds like you need dedicated hosting, which is not what we offer.

Wayne :
At least that is the impression you are giving to me, and if you don’t understand Geost’s article, it indicates you don’t understand the politics of web hosting.

JonathanR:
sir that article has nothing to do with our webhosting company. I cant speak for any of the parties involved. We area shared webhosting company, we do not offer dedicated servers.

Wayne :
I asked if you were willing to puch back if someone wanted a site takedown. You didn’t answer. That indicates that you are no willing to push back.

Wayne :
I asked if you were willing to puch back if someone wanted a site takedown. You didn’t answer. That indicates that you are no willing to push back.

JonathanR:
you didnt specificially ask that sir. But this is a hypothetical situation that a level 1 sales agent would not be able to answer for you.

Wayne :
And that’s a problem. There are a lot of invalid takedown requests sent. None of my sites hav ever had anything illegal on them, but I have had hosts that didn’t have enough guts to to the whiner to hir a lawyer, instead they took stuff down.

JonathanR:
But if you want a server where you are the only one responsible for the site and its content, then you would need to run your own server, or find dedicated hosting. That ist he best suggestion i can give

Wayne :
I’m a business man. I can’t afford to hir someone who won’t do what they are hired for.

JonathanR:
we are not hired to represent our clients in legal matters

Wayne :
Read what I wrote. I didn’t as you to do that. I asked you to refer any such complaints to the proper person, me.

JonathanR:
we have to abide by CIRA rules. we are legally obligated to co-operate with any takedown requests.

JonathanR:
I am afraid we would not be a fit for your business. Is there anything else I can help you with?

Wayne :
The way the CIRA rules read, there is a good bit of latitude as to how things a handled. The system is “notice and notice”

JonathanR:
Sir. This is all hypothetical. but if you want to prevent against being taken down by a host in these types of hypothetical situations, then shared hosting is not an appropriate choice. I would highly recommend dedicated hosting, or running your own server.

Wayne :
Which means if you get a takedown request, the only action you take is to forward it to me.

Wayne :
Which probably wont’t happen, but I write about politics, and I piss people off all the time.

JonathanR:
If we get a takedown request, we take the site down. And notify the user so that action can be taken to resolve the issue as soon as possible.

Wayne :
That is an incorrect way to handle things. I will forward a copy of this call log to the CIRA, and get them to follow up with you.

Wayne has ended the chat.

Leave a Reply

