National Security Agency Wins – Groklaw Shuts Down

Groklaw
Groklaw

On Tuesday August 20, 2013, PJ announced that Groklaw would shut down. To quote her final post:

The owner of Lavabit tells us that he’s stopped using email and if we knew what he knew, we’d stop too.

There is no way to do Groklaw without email. Therein lies the conundrum.

What to do?

The whole NSA spying on emails thing came out of left field to most people. I knew a fair bit about it before it hit the news – I’d been corresponding with a variety of people who were nibbling around the issue from various directions. The problem was that they were all working on different angles, and everything seemed to lead into one direction, which seemed like pure paranoia.

Unfortunately it wasn’t.

In fact the worst things that I’d been discussing with people like Barrett Brown, minor compared to what Edward Snowden revealed.

The entire mess is being caused by a lack of Electoral oversight of the Governmental Institutions that are supposed to be working for the People.

A long time back I wrote how I would never, ever, host anything in the United States. I had no idea the NSA had gone as far as we now know it has, I just knew that I had no real control over servers in the United States. If anyone took action against me, it would cost a fortune to hire a lawyer, and fight back.

By hosting in Canada, the servers are in my home country. Yes, I can still be taken off-line, but it’s a lot easier to fight back.

I really with PJ hadn’t decided to take Groklaw down. The site has served the general public, as well as the Tech and Legal communities well.

But I can see exactly where she’s coming from with her decision. I understand her decision, and it is her decision to make.

Meanwhile, a group of Groklaw regulars is working on a replacement. They are currently using the Proboards as a host, under the <a href=”http://grokthelaw.freeforums.net/”>Grok the Law</a> name. I’ve signed up for an account there. I suggest that you do too.

Regards

Wayne Borean

Saturday August 31, 2013

Leave a Reply

